Current exhibitions

exhibition
Mirjam Devriendt

07.10.17 - 27.03.18
Read more
exhibition

Unseen - dementia and perception

Evy Raes
24.09.17 - 21.01.18

Dementia is primarily associated with the loss of memory. Evy Raes has carried out research into how the illness affects visual perception. Her findings are the result of working with people who suffer from (early) dementia. She witnessed how these people struggle with reality on a daily basis and how reality has become something strange and unrecog-nisable for them.

The exhibition is taking place as part of the Alzheimer Code project.

Read more
exhibition
Nek Chand

The Cabinets

Art Collections from the Collectie De Stadshof Foundation and the Dr. Guislain Museum
24.06.17 - 30.12.20

Art is an essential part of life. It touches us, stimulates our imagination and makes us reflect about mankind and society. Because of its virtuosity and expressiveness, art can be shamelessly beautiful and evoke a sense of awe.

Contemporary museums exhibit work by professional artists. Few museums focus on collecting and exhibiting work from original talents, people who did not get the opportunity to study art or who are not part of the regular art circuit for one reason or another. They are usually artistic loners, nonconformists, who make unorthodox choices in terms of the materials and techniques they use. Their motifs are often personal. Their works are intense and unique.

The Cabinets provides a platform for ‘solitary creators’ whose work will be arranged in changing presentations: recent acquisitions are exhibited, vulnerable works are returned to the depot and new themes are addressed.

The Cabinets is a collaboration between the Collectie De Stadshof Foundation and the Dr. Guislain Museum. It presents works of some thirty different artists.

The Museum Dr. Guislain’s collection started off with a small collection of visual art created by artistically-gifted psychiatric patients and mentally challenged persons. In 2002, the collection in Ghent expanded tremendously with the internationally acclaimed collection of De Stadshof Collection Foundation, which is on long term loan. This top-of-the-bill collection – from naïve art to art brut – has more than 6,000 pieces by nearly 400 outsider artists such as A.C.M., Herman Bossert, Nek Chand, Paul Duhem, Luiz Figueiredo, Madge Gill, Siebe Wiemer Glastra, Bertus Jonkers, Pavel Leonov, Bonaria Manca, Markus Meurer, Michel Nedjar, Oswald Tschirtner, Willem van Genk, and August Walla.

Read more
exhibition

The history of psychiatry

permanent collection
01.10.07 - 30.12.20

What is the extraction of the stone of madness? How do shamans expel evil spirits? What was the effect of the ‘rotation therapy’, invented by Belgian’s first psychiatrist Joseph Guislain? What objects protect us from disease and madness? What does present-day psychiatry look like?

In the course of history people have dealt with madness through a mixture of magic and religion, coercion and care, supervision and science. The unreasonable have been punished, anointed, cared for and cured.

The history of mental health care has known a good deal of desperation, malpractices and sometimes unjustified euphoria. The mental patient confronts us with questions that are hardly answerable and problems that are anything but easy to solve. How do we deal with those who are different? How do we deal with that which is different in ourselves?

The permanent exhibition on the history of psychiatry also pays attention to madness in other cultures and to contemporary questions, problems and ideas. By presenting the terms ‘madness’ and ‘mental illness’ in their historical and cultural contexts, the Museum Dr. Guislain wants to challenge the line between ‘normal’ and ‘abnormal’.

Read more

Actuel expositions

exposition
Mirjam Devriendt

07.10.17 - 27.03.18
Lisez plus
exposition

Jamais vu - démence et perception

Evy Raes
24.09.17 - 21.01.18

La démence est surtout reliée avec la perte de mémoire. Evy Raes a étudié l’impact de la maladie sur la perception visuelle. Son point de vue est né de la collaboration avec des personnes atteintes de démence (précoce). Elle a vu comment ces personnes étaient quotidiennement confrontées à la réalité, bien souvent étrange et méconnaissable.

L’exposition se déroule dans le cadre du Code Alzheimer.

Lisez plus
exposition
Nek Chand

Les cabinets

Collections d’art de la Fondation Collectie De Stadshof et du Musée Dr Guislain
24.06.17 - 30.12.20

L’art est indispensable. Il nous touche, pique notre imagination, nous amène à réfléchir sur l’être humain et la société. Par sa virtuosité et son expressivité, l’art peut être impudemment beau et susciter l’admiration.

Les musées contemporains présentent des œuvres d’artistes professionnels. Peu d’entre eux cherchent à rassembler et montrer les travaux de talents originaux, de personnes qui n’ont pas eu de formation artistique ou qui pour une autre raison n’appartiennent pas au circuit artistique courant. Il s’agit fréquemment de solitaires à la fibre artistique, des rebelles qui ont recours à leurs propres matériaux et techniques. Ils prennent comme modèle leur vécu le plus personnel. Leurs travaux font preuve d’une grande intensité, et ils possèdent un mode d’expression unique.

Les cabinets entend braquer les projecteurs sur ces « loups créateurs solitaires » en des présentations sans cesse changeantes : les acquisitions récentes sont exposées, les travaux sensibles retournent en dépôt, de nouveaux thèmes sont proposés.

Les cabinets est une collaboration entre la Fondation Collectie De Stadshof et le Musée Dr Guislain et présente des œuvres d’une trentaine d’artistes.

La collection du Musée Dr. Guislain a débuté par une petite collection d’œuvres réalisées par des patients psychiatriques talentueux et par des personnes aux facultés restreintes. En 2002 la collection a bénéficié d’une énorme extension: la collection de réputation internationale de la Stichting Collectie De Stadshof a reçu en prêt de longue durée un nouvel emplacement à Gand. Cette collection de tout premier ordre  – de l’art naïf à l’art brut  – contient plus de 6000 œuvres produites par près de 400 artistes tels que  A.C.M., Herman Bossert, Nek Chand,  Paul Duhem, Luiz Figueiredo, Madge Gill, Siebe Wiemer Glastra, Bertus Jonkers, Pavel Leonov, Bonaria Manca, Markus Meurer, Michel Nedjar, Oswald Tschirtner, Willem van Genk et August Walla.

Lisez plus
exposition

L'histoire de la psychiatrie

collection permanente
01.10.07 - 30.12.20

Connaissez-vous l'opération de la pierre de la folie ? Comment les sorciers éloignent-ils les mauvais esprits ? Quels étaient les effets de la "thérapie par rotation" du premier psychiatre belge, Joseph Guislain ? Quels sont les objets censés nous protéger de la maladie et de la folie ? De quoi est faite la psychiatrie moderne ?

Approcher la folie, c'est toucher à la fois à la magie et à la religion, à la coercition et à la sollicitude, au contrôle et à la science.  Dans ce domaine où rien ne rime avec raison, les pratiques les plus diverses se côtoient : on sanctionne ou on bénit, on soigne ou on guérit.

L'histoire de l'hygiène mentale est jalonnée de désillusions, d'erreurs de pratique et parfois d'euphories non fondées. La maladie psychique nous confronte à des questions qui sont loin d'être anodines. Quels rapports entretenons-nous avec les autres, mais aussi avec cet autre qui vit en nous ?

L'exposition permanente consacrée à l'histoire de la psychiatrie aborde aussi le thème de la folie dans d'autres cultures et s'attache à présenter nos préoccupations, nos interrogations et nos interprétations d'aujourd'hui. En replaçant les notions de 'folie' et de 'maladie mentale' dans leur contexte historique et culturel, le Musée Dr Guislain entend éprouver la frontière entre 'normalité' et 'anormalité'.

Lisez plus